Skip to main content

2024 Nomination Guidelines and Information

The award may be made annually to that book judged by the Award Committee to be the outstanding book on American labor history published during the preceding calendar year. The making of an award is not mandatory, however, and if, in the judgment of the Award Committee, no book is worthy of recognition, no award need be made.

The award will carry with it a monetary prize of $2,000.00.

Competition is limited to books published in the English language.

Subject matter must be United States labor history defined broadly enough to include histories of workers (free and unfree, organized and unorganized) as well as histories of their institutions, and their workplaces, as well as the broader historical trends that have shaped working-class life, including but not limited to immigration, slavery, community, the state, race, gender, and ethnicity.

Books for the competition may be submitted by either the author or the publisher. One copy of each nominated book should be submitted to every member of the Award Committee. Hard copies are strongly preferred.  

Nominated books should be submitted no later than December 15, 2023. Page proofs may be submitted in lieu of books to be published between December 15, 2023, and December 31, 2023.

The winner of this year’s prize will be announced at the 2024 LAWCHA annual meeting to be held at the OAH Conference in New Orleans April 11-14, 2024.

2024 Philip Taft Labor History Award Committee

Ileen A. DeVault
RE: Taft Labor History Prize
Cornell University – ILR School
Dept. of Labor Relations, Law, & History
370 Ives Hall
Ithaca, NY 14853-3901

Dennis Deslippe
RE: Taft Labor History Prize

If sending via US Postal Service, please use:

Dennis Deslippe
American Studies
Franklin & Marshall College
PO Box 3003
Lancaster, PA 17604

If sending via any other carrier, please use:

Dennis Deslippe, AMS Dept.
Franklin & Marshall College
415 Harrisburg Ave.
Lancaster, PA 17603


Peter Cole
RE: Taft Labor History Prize
313 S McArthur St.
Macomb, IL 61455


Paul Ortiz
RE: Taft Labor History Prize
2115 NW 7th Lane
Gainesville, FL 32603


John Weber
RE: Taft Labor History Prize
Old Dominion University
8022 Batten Arts and Letters
Norfolk, VA 23529