ILRies Named Distinguished 1979 Classmates

Six graduates will be honored at Reunion, which includes two ILR-sponsored events.
3 alumni take a selfie
Wednesday, June 5, 2019

More than 300 ILR alumni will be among 7,000-plus Cornellians returning to East Hill to celebrate Reunion Thursday through Sunday.

ILR-specific events include a reception 5-6:30 p.m. Friday in the Katz Courtyard, as well as a breakfast 8:30-10 a.m. Saturday in 423 King-Shaw Hall.

In addition, six ILR alumni – Seth H. Agata, Michael D'Ambrose, Janet McSweeney Lindner, Gregg A. Popkin, Michael K. Tucker and Stuart H. Zimmerman – will be honored as Distinguished Classmates of 1979 due to their outstanding achievements.

As part of the 25th class reunion in 2004, class officers solicited nominations and identified 25 individuals for the inaugural class. A “distinguished classmate” is defined as a person who has made a meaningful, recognizable and lasting contribution to their profession, community, business or constituency. Since 2004, class officers chose 30 peers to honor for their 30th reunion, 35 for their 35th, and now 40 for the 2019 reunion.

Standing at 130 honorees from all seven Cornell undergraduate colleges, the latest Distinguished Classmates of 1979 group will be recognized at a reception from 4:45-6 p.m. Saturday at the A.D. White House.

Previous ILR selections include: Michael Berman, Kathryn M. Keneally, Steven M. Klosk, Andrew J. Nathanson, Lynn M. Paltrow, Timothy M. Ring and Teddy Zee. To learn more about the Distinguished Classmates of 1979, and to read full bios on all 130 members, visit:

For more information about Reunion, visit: