Skip to main content
Cornell University mobile logo
Board Room

Advisory Council

Worker Institute Advisory Council

  • Co-Executive Director, National Day Laborer Organizing Network

As a youth, Pablo Alvarado was raised in a village lacking running water and electricity.

  • Vincent Alvarez President, NYC Central Labor Council

Vincent Alvarez was elected as the NYCCLC’s first full-time President and first Latino President in 2011, and was re-elected in 2015 and 2019.

  • President, RWDSU

Stuart Appelbaum became President of the Retail, Wholesale and Department Store Union on May 1, 1998.  He was reelected in 2002, 2006, 2010, 2014 and 2018. 

  • Co-Executive Director, Make the Road New York

Deborah Axt is Co-Executive Director of Make the Road New York, the largest immigrant base-building organization in New York State.

  • President, SEIU 32BJ

Kyle Bragg became president of 32BJ in July of 2019, after the sudden death of Hector Figueroa, and was unanimously approved by the union’s executive board on July 24, 2019.

  • UAW Region 9A Director

Beverley Brakeman was elected director of UAW Region 9A at the 37th Constitutional Convention in June 2018.

Previously she was the Region 9A Assistant Director.

  • President, NYS AFL-CIO

As a member of the Newspaper Guild-CWA since 1990, Mario Cilento has a long history of fighting for working men and women.

  • Director Governance, Organizational and Leadership Development, AFL-CIO

Al Davidoff is the Director of Governance, Organizational and Leadership Development for the AFL-CIO.

  • President, Long Island Labor Federation and Local 338 RWDSU/UFCW

  • Business Manager IBEW Local 3 and Chairman, International IBEW Executive Council

  • Executive Director DC 37 AFSCME

Exec. Dir. Henry A. Garrido is the first Latino to head DC 37, the largest municipal employees union in New York City. A native of the Dominican Republic, Garrido assumed the position on Dec.

  • President SEIU 1199

George Gresham, PhD, was born in Virginia and his family moved north to New York City when he was young.

  • Chair Federal Reserve Bank of NY and CEO, Trupo

Sara Horowitz (born January 13, 1963)[1] is a founder of the 

  • President ROC-United

Siby leads the national staff to support membership operations, training and education programs, community and public engagement, as well as policy advocacy and organizational development.

  • President Building and Construction Trades Council of Greater New York

Gary LaBarbera has served since 2009 as president of the Building and Construction Trades Council of Greater New York, an organization comprising local affiliates of 15 national and international u

  • President OPEIU

Richard Lanigan was elected to serve as president of the Office and Professional Employees International Union (OPEIU), AFL-CIO, at its 27th Convention in June 2016.

  • President Western NY Area Labor Federation, AFL-CIO

  • International President IATSE

Matthew D. Loeb has served as International President since July 31, 2008, when he was unanimously elected by the IATSE General Executive Board.

  • President Rochester-Genesee Valley Area Labor Federation

President of the Rochester Labor Council and Rochester & Genesee Valley Area Labor Federation. He is also President of United Auto Workers Local 1097.

  • George Miranda President Teamsters Joint Council 16

George L. Miranda has been a Teamster since 1967.

  • International Representative NYS Pipe Trades Association (NYSPTA)

  • International President Transport Workers Union

TWU International President John Samuelsen represents over 150,000 members across the airline, railroad, transit, universities, utilities, and services sectors.

  • Secretary-Treasurer AFL-CIO

Elizabeth H. Shuler is the AFL-CIO’s Secretary-Treasurer, its second ranking officer, the first woman elected to the position, and the youngest woman ever on the federation’s Executive Council.

  • Executive Director ALIGN

Maritza Silva-Farrell is the Executive Director at ALIGN, a long time organizer, political strategist, and a movement leader with a track record of winning campaigns in the progres

  • National President Utility Workers Union of America (UWUA)

James T. Slevin, President the Utility Workers Union of America, AFL-CIO, was elected July, 2019.

  • Executive Director Jobs with Justice

Erica Smiley is the executive director of Jobs With Justice.

  • Vice-President Communications Workers of America District 1

Dennis G. Trainor is Vice President of CWA District 1. 

  • President Hotel Trades Council

  • President American Federation of Teachers

RANDI WEINGARTEN is president of the 1.7 million-member American Federation of Teachers, AFL-CIO, which represents teachers; paraprofessionals and school-related personnel; higher

  • Executive Director New York Communities for Change

Jonathan Westin is the executive director of New York Communities for Change, one of the largest community-based organizations in New York.

  • President Canadian Labour Congress

Hassan Yussuff (born December 15, 1957) is a Canadian Senator, retired labour leader and former president of the 

Subscribe to Email Updates