Honorees Announced

Groat and Alpern 2015 awardees are Horowitz and Florin
Friday, September 12, 2014

The 2015 recipients of the Judge William B. Groat Alumni Award and the Jerome Alpern Award have been announced by Harry Katz, ILR's Kenneth F. Kahn Dean and Jack Sheinkman Professor.

Sara J. Horowitz '84 will receive the Groat Award and Beth Florin M.S. '85 will receive the Alpern Award at ILR's Groat and Alpern Celebration April 9 at The Pierre in New York City. The awards honor outstanding professional achievement and service to ILR.

Horowitz founded the Freelancers Union and serves as the chief executive officer of the Freelancers Insurance Co.

A MacArthur Foundation genius fellow, Horowitz is a voice for the emerging economy and the independent workers within it.

Her work as an advocate, educator and union leader led to recognitions including the:

  • “Top 30 Social Entrepreneurs” in 2011 by Forbes
  • “Top 25 Most Promising Social Entrepreneur” in 2011 by Businessweek
  • “25 People to Watch” in 2010 by Crain's New York Business
  • “100 Global Leaders for Tomorrow” at the 2002 World Economic Forum.

Florin co-founded Executive Alliance, a technology industry compensation consultancy, and is a managing director for Pearl Meyer & Partners in Boston.

Florin co-authored "The Handbook for Conducting Compensation & Benefits Surveys" and also served as a senior human resource consultant with the William M. Mercer, Inc., High Tech Compensation Practice.

She is a member of the ILR Advisory Council and the ILR Alumni Association Board.

Florin graduated from the University of Florida and earned an ILR master's degree in Human Resource Management and Research Methodology.