Philip Taft Labor History Book Award

374 Ives Faculty Building, 607-255-6693

About the Taft Award


I am pleased to announce the beginning of the annual competition for the Philip Taft Labor History Award.  The competition is open to any book (or books) published in 2013 relating to the history of American labor.  I invite your nomination of any and every eligible book for consideration. 

The prize committee defines "labor history" in a broad sense to include the history of workers (free and unfree, organized and unorganized), their institutions, and their workplaces, as well as the broader historical trends that have shaped working-class life, including but not limited to: immigration, slavery, community, the state, race, gender, and ethnicity.

A copy of each nominated book should be sent directly to each member of the Award Committee at the address listed in the Submission Guidelines.  The Award is offered by the ILR School at Cornell University, in cooperation with the Labor and Working-Class History Association (LAWCHA).

Please nominate books no later than DECEMBER 15, 2013.  (We will accept page proofs for books published during the last two weeks of December.) 

The winners of the 2013 Taft Award, in alphabetical order, are Matt Garcia, for From the Jaws of Victory:  The Triumph and Tragedy of Cesar Chavez and the Farm Worker Movement, (University of California Press) and Kimberley Phillips's War!  What Is It Good For?:  Black Freedom Struggles and the U.S. Military from World War II to Iraq (University of North Carolina Press). 


Jefferson Cowie
Chair, Philip Taft Labor History Award Committee