McPherson Event

Students and professors receive awards
Students and professors receive awards
Monday, May 2, 2011

Sixty-five ILR faculty members, staff and students gathered Friday in the Statler Hotel for the 18th annual McPherson Honors and Awards event.

Students were nominated by faculty and selected by members of the Academic Standards and Scholarships Committee for outstanding scholarship, leadership and community service. Seniors who are candidates for graduation with honors were also recognized.

Faculty members, nominated by students for exemplary teaching and mentoring, and their awards are:

  • Professor and Associate Dean Robert Smith , Stephen H. Weiss Presidential Fellowship
  • Professor David Lipsky, General Mills Award for Exemplary Graduate Teaching
  • Professor Michael Gold, MacIntyre Award for Exemplary Undergraduate Teaching
  • Professor William Sonnenstuhl , Robert N. Stern Mentoring Award.

Student winners and their awards include:

  • John Ertl '11, Daniel Alpern Award and Stuart Linnick Memorial Prize
  • Patricia Moscoso '11, Daniel Alpern Award and honors candidate
  • Shaun Werbelow '11, James Campbell Award and honors candidate
  • Catherine Riley '11, Irving M. Ives Award and honors candidate
  • John Karin '11, Merrill Presidential Scholar
  • Kimberly Kowren '11, Merrill Presidential Scholar and honors candidate
  • Alyssa O’Connor '12, John O’Donnell Prize in Labor Law
  • Needhy Shah '13, John O’Donnell Prize in Labor Law
  • Maite Tapia PhD '12, Seidman Prize
  • Caroline McInerney '11, Seidman Prize and honors candidate
  • Daniel Bordeleau '12, Stuart Linnick Memorial Prize
  • Sara Furguson '11, Eric Lawrence Ehrenberg Memorial Prize

Additional candidates for graduation with honors include:

  • Christopher Adams '11
  • Jaclyn Appell '11
  • Sejin Bai '11
  • Samarth Bordia '11
  • Ashley Daniels '11
  • Michael Dolce '11
  • Hannah Gordon '11
  • Julian Hsu '11
  • Barak Ir '11
  • Adam Kahn '12
  • Janna Keatseangsilp '11
  • Melissa Kim '11
  • Amelia Murphy '11
  • Judah Rosenblatt '11
  • Leah Seyburn '11
  • Rebecca Smith '11

Teaching awards were presented by Professor Brad Bell, a member of the Teaching Advisory Committee, and Laura Lewis, Frank B. Miller Director, Office of Student Services. Lewis also presented awards to students on behalf of the Academic Standards and Scholarships Committee.