Lipsky Receives Awards

Professor lauded by two organizations for lifetime achievement
Professor David Lipsky lauded by two organizations for lifetime achievement
Friday, July 6, 2018

Professor David Lipsky has been honored by two organizations this summer.

The Labor and Employment Relations Association awarded ILR’s Anne Evans Estabrook Professor of Dispute Resolution with its Lifetime Achievement Award.

The organization told Lipsky that the honor is its most prestigious award “and signifies the admiration and appreciation of the members of the association for your lifetime of work and achievement in our field.”

The award was presented to Lipsky by Professor Harry Katz, ILR’s Jack Sheinkman Professor of Collective Bargaining, in his capacity as the president of the Labor and Employment Relations Association. The honor was made on June 16 in Baltimore, Md., at the organization’s 70th annual meeting.

Two others received a Lifetime Achievement Award at the meeting. They are arbitrator Marcia Greenbaum ’62 and Professor Morris Kleiner, the AFL-CIO Chair in Labor Policy at the University of Minnesota Humphrey School of Public Affairs.

One other current member of the ILR faculty has received the award – Lois Spier Gray, the Jean McKelvey-Alice Grant Professor Emerita of Labor Management Relations.

The second honor received by Lipsky this summer is the Lifetime Achievement Award from the American College for Civil Trial Mediators. At its June 18 conference in Ogunquit, Maine, the organization also named him a fellow emeritus.