ICS Director Hallock to Chair new Cornell-wide Economics Department

Cornell-wide Department of Economics enhances strengths
Cornell University, ILR School: ICS - Hallock to chair newly formed Econ Department in 2012-13
Thursday, July 14, 2011

Beginning with the 2012-13 academic year, Professor Kevin Hallock, Director of the Institute for Compensation Studies, will chair the newly formed Cornell University Economics Department. The new departmental structure will, for the first time, combine all economics faculty from the College of Arts and Sciences and all labor economists from the ILR School, along with a small number of senior distinguished professors from Johnson, the Charles H. Dyson School of Applied Economics and Management, and the College of Human Ecology's Department of Policy Analysis and Management (PAM) who will have joint appointments.

“We have a lot to offer each other, and a lot to learn from each other,” said Hallock of the larger university-wide economics department. “We come from a position of strength, and this new structure will make us better immediately and going forward.”

Hallock will serve as associate chair of the new department beginning immediately and take over as the department’s chair on July 1, 2012. (David Easley, Scarborough Professor of Social Science will serve as the department’s first chair for the 2011-2012 academic year.)

“The College of Arts and Sciences and the ILR School have been moving towards this point for a long time,” said Harry Katz, Kenneth F. Kahn Dean of the ILR School, of the new structure. For the past 15 years, economics courses have been cross-listed and a joint PhD program offered. The new Economics Department will report jointly to the deans of the ILR School and the College of Arts and Sciences. The Institute for Compensation Studies will remain in the ILR School.

ICS Fellows who are faculty in the newly formed department include John Abowd, Daniel Benjamin, Francine Blau, Ronald Ehrenberg, Matthew Freedman, Kevin Hallock, Robert Hutchens, Lawrence Kahn, Robert Smith, and Michael Waldman.

See full story on newly formed Cornell University Economics Department.