Cornell University

Groat and Alpern Awards

621 Ives Hall, 607-255-6623

Judge William B. Groat Alumni Award

Judge William B. Groat (1899-1986) served as counsel to the New York State Joint Legislative Committee on Industrial and Labor Relations, where he played a pivotal role in founding the ILR School and drafting its charter. The Groat Alumni Award was established in 1971 in honor of Judge Groat's vision and in tribute to his professional accomplishments, which culminated in appointment as justice of the New York State Supreme Court, Eleventh Judicial District.

The single most important criterion for selection as the Groat recipient should be achievement in "the field" of industrial relations, as broadly interpreted to include all aspects of labor relations and human resources management in any of the major sectors labor unions, management, neutrals, government service and academe. Service to the School and participation in alumni activities are also criteria to be considered in selecting the Groat awardee.

Nomination Information

Groat Alumni Awardees

1971 Eric F. Jensen '51, Vice President, Industrial Relations, ACF Industries

1971 Jacob Sheinkman '49, General Counsel, Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America, AFL-CIO

1972 Chris Argyris '51, James Bryant Conant Professor of Education and Organizational Behavior, Harvard University

1973 Robert D. Helsby EdD. '58, Chairman, NYS Public Employment Relations Board

1974 Paul J. Fasser, Jr. '51, Assistant Secretary of Labor, Labor-Management Relations, US Dept. of Labor

1975 Gerald L. Dorf '57, Counselor-at-Law

1976 Richard Goldstein '49, Vice President of Labor Relations, NBC

1977 Paul Yager M.S. '49, Director, Region 1, Federal Mediation & Conciliation Service

1977 William J. Kilberg '66, Attorney-at-Law and Former Solicitor of Labor

1978 Harry T. Edwards '62, Professor at Law, University of Michigan Law School

1979 Jack Golodner '53, Director, Department for Professional Employees, AFL-CIO

1980 Peter Cusack '56, Vice President, Personnel, ABC

1981 Marcia L. Greenbaum '62, Labor-Management Arbitrator

1981 Jacob Seidenberg '51, Labor-Management Arbitrator

1983 Walton E. Burdick '55, Vice President, Personnel, IBM Corporation

1984 Saul J. Kramer '54, Attorney-at-Law

1985 Stanley L. Aiges '58, Labor-Management Arbitrator

1986 Joan Greenspan '64, National Director, Industrial Organizing, SAG

1987 Carl Behnke '61, Vice President, HR Management Division, Edison Electronic Institute

1989 Robert F. Risley M.S. '49, PhD. '53, Professor, ILR, Cornell University

1990 Theodore Hawryluk '49, Director, Employee Services and Programs, Philip Morris Management Co.

1991 Eileen Barkas Hoffman '69, General Counsel, Federal Mediation & Conciliation Service

1993 Vicki A. Saporta '74, Director of Organizing, International Brotherhood of Teamsters

1994 Stephen A. Ploscowe '94, Partner, Grotta, Glassman & Hoffman, P.A.

1995 Sheila H. Akabas '51, Professor and Director of the Workplace Center, Columbia University School of Social Work

1996 Carolyn J. Jacobson '72, Director of Public Relations, Bakery, Confectionery and Tobacco Workers International Union, AFL-CIO

1997 Kenneth F. Kahn '69, President, LRP Publications and Human Resource Executive Magazine

1998 David B. Lipsky '61, Professor, ILR, Cornell University and Director, Martin and Laurie Scheinman Institute on Conflict Resolution

1999 Bruce S. Raynor '72, Secretary-Treasurer, Union of Needletrades, Industrial and Textile Employees, AFL-CIO

2000 Francis N. Bonsignore '68, Senior Vice President, Human Resources and Administration, Marsh & McLennan Companies

2001 Randi Weingarten '80, President, United Federation of Teachers

2002 Paul Salvatore '81, Partner, Proskauer Rose LLP

2003 Elizabeth Moore '75, Partner, Nixon Peabody LLP

2004 Gary B. Bettman '74, Commissioner, National Hockey League

2005 Harris L. Raynor '69, Southern Regional Director and an International Vice President of UNITE HERE

2006 Martin F. Scheinman ’75, MS ’76, Arbitrator in private and public sector disputes

2007 Jay W. Waks '68, J.D. '71, Attorney, Kaye Scholer LLP

2008 Robert A. Molofsky '72, Vice President, AFL-CIO, Investment Trust Corporation and Mark E. Brossman '75, Partner, Schulte Roth & Zabel

2009 Bonnie S. Weinstock '75, Labor & Employment Arbitrator and Mediator 

2010 Laurie Berke-Weiss '71, founder of Berke-Weiss & Pechman LLP and Seth Harris '83 Undersecretary of Labor, the second highest position in the U.S. Department of Labor

2011 Barry A. Hartstein ’73, shareholder in the firm Littler Mendelson, P.C.

2012 Eva Sage-Gavin '80, Executive Vice President, Global Human Resources and Corporate Affairs, Gap Inc. 

2013 Alan B. Krueger '83, Chair of President Obama's Council of Economic Advisors

2014 Pamela O. Kimmet ' 80, Senior Vice President of Human Resources, Coca-Cola Enterprises, Inc.