Cornell University

Office of Career Services

201 Ives Hall, 607-255-7816

Fall 2014 Events Calendar

Event Date
Job Search Strategies for ILR Seniors and Graduating MILRs Thurs., August 28, 4:30, 217 Ives
Internship and Summer Job Search Strategies for ILRies Tues., September 2, 4:30, 217 Ives
Ice Cream Social: What did you do this past summer? We want to know! Complete a survey, and we'll make you an ice cream sundae! New students can also complete a profile on CCNet. Sponsored by PepsiCo Wed., September 3, 11:00AM-3:00PM, Cleary/AFL-CIO Lobby
ILR International Travel Grants Info Session Wed., September 3, 4:30, 116 Ives
International Programs Info Session Wed., September 3, 5:00, 116 Ives
Build a Better Resume Wed., September 3, 4:45, 105 Ives
Study Abroad Info Session for Fall 2014 (for BSILR students only) Thurs., September 4, 4:30, 217 Ives
ILR Office of Career Services Open House and RESUMANIACS #1: Stop by for refreshments and a resume critique. Raffle Prizes! Fri., September 5, 1:30-4:30, 201 Ives
FEX/WISP Info Sessions: Learn about ILR's Freshman Externship Program (FEX) & Winter Intersession Program (WISP). Attendance at one session is required as part of the application process. Mon., September 8, 4:30 OR Thurs., September 11, 4:30. Both sessions in 105 Ives.
Strengthen Your Interviewing Skills Mon., September 8, 4:45, TBD
ILR Credit Internship Info Session (for  BSILR students only)
If you are beginning your summer job and internship search this semester, this workshop will focus on getting you started!
Tues., September 9, 4:30, 217 Ives
ILR Law School Info Session with ILR Pre-Law Advisor, Laura Lewis. Targeted to BSILR Seniors./td> Wed., September 10, 4:30, 116 Ives
RESUMANIACS #2: Drop-In Resume Critique Fri., September 12, 1:30-4:30, 201 Ives
Mingling and Working a Room: Networking Tips Fri., September 12, 5:00-7:00. Clark Atrium Physical Sciences Building.
Prepare for a Career Fair Visit:  Get ready for the upcoming university-wide career fairs. Mon., September 15, 4:45, Plant Science
Career Fair Days: Meet with representatives from approximately 200 employers over a two-day period, in one central location. (Check CCNet for lists of employers and additional details). Tues., September 16, 10-3 AND Wed., September 17, 10-3. Both fairs in Barton Hall.
Mock Interview Madness for ILR students: Prepare for internship/job interviews with a mock! Look for more info through weekly announcements. Sign-up required via CCNet. Fri., September 19, 9-4, 201 Ives
Managing your HR/Labor Relations Career: Advice from PepsiCo Director of Labor Relations and ILR Alumnus, Bill Woolston '83 Mon., September 22, 4:30-6, 281 Ives
Crack the Case Interview: Prep for case-based interviewing, a popular style of questioning by employers within consulting and other career fields. Mon., September 22, 4:45, TBD
Behavioral Interviewing Tips: Heather Porzuczek MILR '05 will share insights on this common interview method and how to master it. A definite must for interview prep! Sponsored by GE. Pre-registration required via CCNet. Thurs., September 18, 4:45, 105 Ives
RESUMANIACS #3: Drop-In Resume Critique. (Great for FEX participants; registration deadline is Monday, September 29, and you must submit your resume to register).
Fri., September 26, 1:30-4:30, 201 Ives
Law School Day: Talk informally with Admissions' representatives from various law school programs. See CCNet for more details. Tues., September 30, 11:00-2:00, Barton Hall
Graduate School Day: Representatives from diverse graduate and professional schools from around the country will be on hand to share information about their programs, admissions criteria, and application process. See CCNet for more details. Wed., October 1, 11:00-2:00, Barton Hall
Interviewing Via Phone or Skype: Nuances You Need to Know Mon., October 6, 4:45, 105 Ives
ILR Career Fair Prep: Find out what to expect and how to effectively navigate this week's event. Co-sponsored by SHRM, SGA and MILRSO. Mon, October 20, 4:30, 217 Ives
27th Annual ILR Career Fair: Representatives from a variety of employers visit campus to discuss opportunities, especially those seeking full-time employment or internships in corporate HR, labor relations, HR consulting, and other career fields. Wed., October 22, 10:00-3:00. Carrier Ballroom, Statler Hotel
Career Talk with Seth Harris, BSILR '83, former US Deputy Secretary of Labor. Pizza and refreshments will be served; registration required by signing up in 201 Ives or by calling 607-255-7816. Interested in government, labor, policy and/or politics? Get career advice and firsthand accounts from distinguished alumus, Seth Harris, BSILR '83!
Mon., November 17, 12:00-1:00pm, Doherty Lounge (281 Ives)
Make the Most of your FEX/WISP/Credit Internship Wed., November 19, 4:30 FEX: 219 Ives WISP/Credit Interns: 105 Ives