Cornell University

Alumni Affairs and Development

621 Ives Hall, 607-255-6623

Jerome Alpern Award

The Jerome Alpern Award was established in 1997 and named in honor of Jerome Alpern '49, whose contributions of outstanding service and support to the ILR School, its students, and its alumni, combined with his professional accomplishments outside the field of industrial and labor relations, embody the essence and spirit of the Alpern Award.

The Jerome Alpern Award was established to honor a distinguished alumnus who has demonstrated outstanding service and support to the School, and it recognizes those whose career accomplishments have been primarily outside the field of industrial and labor relations.

In evaluating eligibility for the Alpern Award, "service and support to the School" shall be interpreted to include activities such as: active participation on the Advisory Council or Alumni Association Board of Directors and its committees; and/or; assisting the School as a member of the University Council or otherwise in its dealings with Cornell University, the State University of New York, the New York State Legislature, major labor unions or corporations; and/or active support of student internships, summer employment, on-campus recruitment and similar school-sponsored programs; and/or participation as a guest lecturer or instructor at on-campus or Industrial and Labor Relations extension courses and seminars; and/or; other personal contributions (time, effort, financial) to the School.

In 2004, the ILR Advisory Council and Alumni Association voted to amend the requirements of the Alpern Award to include friends of ILR who have given outstanding service to the School.

Nominators are required to supply a letter of nomination, at least one letter of recommendation in support of each nomination, and biographical information about the nominee. Other letters of support giving additional perspectives on the nominee's service to the School are encouraged.

Alpern Alumni Awardees

1998 Anne Evans Estabrook '65, Owner, Elberon Development Co.

2000 Robert H. Bluestein '67, President, R.H. Bluestein and Company

2000 L. William Kay II '51, Managing Partner, Drexelbrook Associates

2001 Harold O. Levy '74, Chancellor, New York City Board of Education

2002 Harold Tanner '52, President, Tanner & Co., Inc.

2004 Michael F. Nozzolio '73, Senator, NYS 54th District

2005 Robert A. Huret '65, founding general partner, Financial Technology Ventures, San Francisco, CA.

2006 Adele Smithers-Fornaci, President of the Smithers Foundation

2007 Paul Cole, Secretary-Treasurer Emeritus of the New York State AFL-CIO and Cornell Trustee

2008 Ruben King-Shaw, Jr. '83, Chairman and CEO, Mansa Equity Partners, Inc.

2009 Douglas L. Braunstein '83, Head of Investment Banking, J.P. MorganĀ 

2010 Seth "Yossi" Siegel '74, JD '78, Vice Chairman of The Beanstalk Group

2011 John Scelfo '79, Senior Vice President of Finance and Corporate Development, Hess Corporation

2012 Tracy Dolgin '81, President and CEO, YES Network

2013 Jean A. Baderschneider Ph.D '78, Vice President for Global Procurement, Exxon Mobil